Japan 2k16 Photobook

I know, I know.

I haven’t updated my Japan 2016 blog in a LONG time – but bear with me. I’m writing it slowly, and you should expect a post probably next week (if school work doesn’t drown me).

In the meantime – I’m very excited to announce that for the past month, I’ve been working on a secret project. I was looking through my past photos when I was in Japan and I was suddenly struck with inspiration –ย why don’t I make a photo album?
So that’s what I did – I combined my photography, my brush lettering, and my photo editing skills together in one huge project.

Join me as I take a trip down memory lane through my photo album!

It was a difficult process to choose only a hundred photos for the entire album – I distributed it to 20 photos a month (excluding the collages, it counts as “1 photo”) – but after much deliberation, I finally completed it. I arranged the photos in the order that it happened. If some photos don’t make much sense, it’s because it’s probably an inside joke or story. Maybe if I have the time, I’ll write about it in my future blog posts!

Without further adieu, here it is! The product of several sleepless nights, blood, sweat, and tears:

9 thoughts on “Japan 2k16 Photobook

    1. Yes! Hehe I wanted it to be a very personal project so what better way than to include my handwriting/lettering? ๐Ÿ™‚ You should try it out! It’s a long and tiresome process, but it’s incredibly worth it!

      Thank you for reading (+ the comment)! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I have a drawing tablet (Wacom Intuos Art) – but I didn’t use it for this project since I prefer the traditional way when doing brush lettering! ๐Ÿ™‚ I did everything on paper first, then scanned it (though a scanner or a phone scanner app) then opened it in Photoshop ๐Ÿ™‚

        [Here’s a tip! When you open your work on Photoshop, you can invert the image (white -> black and vice versa) then select the Magic Wand tool for the lettering :)]

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ahh, I see! I can see why it took you so long now ๐Ÿ˜ต. Thanks for your tips! I may give it a go, just to keep up with practising everyday, maybe I’ll just go back and annote my old photos to start with hehe.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I tried using the tablet first, but it looked too…constricted? Like there wasn’t enough character in it ๐Ÿ™‚ Yey! I’m excited to see your work!

        Like

Leave a Reply

