First Book Signing: Hanya Yanagihara

As a bookworm, one of my ultimate goals is to actually go to a book signing. Of course, when the opportunity presents itself, I make sure to grab it with two hands. Luckily, my university was hosting a book signing, I decided to go for it. Unfortunately, I haven’t finished reading the book before the signing but I still decided to go since it would be cool to actually meet an international author! Miss Hanya Yanagihara just so happened to be at the right place and at the right time. I had her book A Little Life on my Goodreads’s “to-read” shelf for a while and decided to go for it.

20161109_161222

I tried to read as much as I could before the actual book signing, but – unfortunately – wasn’t able to finish the book. The entire book discussion was so inspiring since the author talked about her writing process and how writers could build up their skills and improve. I wrote down a lot of notes on writing and developing concepts hoping that I could actually apply them later on.

After the discussion, it was time for the book signing!

20161109_181627

20161109_182550
(I’m next omg)

I know that I’m a naturally awkward person. The conversation went something like this:
Her: Hi! Thank you so much for coming!
Me: Thank you for coming as well! Er, I mean, thank you for coming here to the Philippines!
(I cringed after saying that – HAHA.)
Her: Of course! I’m happy to be here!
(I got really shy after that and let her sign my book while the staff took the photo.)

20161109_182742

Unfortunately, she took the photo a second too early and I wasn’t looking – HAHA – but, oh well.

20161109_192606

Mission accomplished. 🙂

What was your first book signing like? Or if you’ve never gone, who would you love to have for a book signing?

Leave a Reply

