#PTXLiveinManila

Something amazing happened a few weeks ago! I am incredibly thankful that I got the opportunity to watch Pentatonix (PTX) live in Manila! Here’s the long backstory:

Last year, PTX performed in Manila (it was their first time in the country) and I wasn’t able to go. The sad thing was that I joined a random contest last year through social media and was actually lucky enough to win (one ticket)! I had to give it away because I had no transportation to go and I lacked a concert buddy. Devastated, I gave it to a random stranger via social media. This year, Philippine Concerts announced that they would be holding a contest for TWO tickets for PTX! I didn’t join because I didn’t think that I would win anyways since I had my chance last year. One of my best friends suddenly pushed me to join the contest because quote and unquote: “Who knows? You’re lucky anyways. Also, if you do win, you get a bigger chance of going since it’s two tickets.” I decided to give it a shot. I won. (Later on, that very friend was like: “I TOLD YOU SO OMG.”)

I quickly called my aunt, who enjoyed their Christmas album:
“Remember when I won tickets last year for PTX but wasn’t able to go?”
“Yes! Why? Did you wi-”
“I won again this year! Haha! This time two tickets! Do you want to watch with me?”

(That’s basically how the conversation went.)

And, so we went to the Smart Araneta Colliseum on the night of September 24, 2016:
20160924_220834

20160924_220551
So many people!

The tickets I won were box tickets, which gave us this view:

20160924_200336

We were all patiently waiting for them to come out!

20160924_200652
After about twenty minutes all the lights were killed, and everyone held up their glowsticks and screamed in excitement.

20160924_203653
(The view is so much better than what the photo suggests. All the lights and the colors co-existed in harmony with the music.)

THEY’RE HERE!

20160924_214741

20160924_214937
(AHAH someone actually brought a lightsaber!)

I was so happy when Kevin had a solo performance. He took out his cello and playedΒ Bach’s Cello Suite No.1 with a twist. I saw him playing this via his YouTube channel earlier this year and was so happy to see and experience it in person. (Click here to watch!)

20160924_211332
Kevin’s solo performance!

The concert was incredible. They have genuine talent and they sound exactly like how I imagined they would sound like. The second to the last song was Light in the Hallway, where they put their microphones away and requested the audience to be silent. It was a silent but incredibly peaceful four minutes.

20160924_215452
(Another story: While they were singing this, there was a security guard right behind my aunt and I. During Light in the Hallway, everyone and everything was quiet – except that guard’s radio transceiver / walkie-talkie. Everyone in the area got really pissed because the guard just let it keep going. Report after report; to the point where lots of people told him to shut it off.)

Here’s the setlist! The last song was Sing, which was the perfect ending.

img_20160925_005521
(Photo from PTX Official Twitter) (AHAHA “No balut please”)

The concert was just amazing and I’m forever grateful for the second chance (kind of like a redemption from last year haha) that I was given.

That’s another concert ticked off the checklist! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

