Will Do (Almost) Anything for Books!

Today, I experienced something really interesting and strange. Some weeks ago, I volunteered to be part of an experiment – a psychological experiment entitled “Games and Choices Experiment”. The volunteers of the experiment would get a Php 500 gift certificate for Fully Booked; and, of course, how can I say no to that?

So I scheduled the experiment for November 5, 2015, at 12:30 PM. At first, I had thoughts like: “Oh, no. Will I be playing horror games?” because I thought well, playing horror games did come with choices: what weapon to use, which move to make next, whether I should open the door where the strange sounds are coming from…ANYWAYS!

I’ve sworn confidentiality for the experiment (until the entire experiment period ends, anyways) so I really can’t go into much detail. When I first went in the room, the lady there said: “Hi! Are you Sophia Yu?” and I said: “Yes! Uhm, will I be playing horror games?”

(Smooth, real smooth.)

Luckily, I didn’t — instead, I took different types of exams – all which are interesting – and after it all, the lady gave me my envelope with Php 500 worth of books from Fully Booked!

The way I left the room was like: “Thank you so much! I’m going to Fully Booked now, haha!”. And, yes. Yes, I did go to Fully Booked and bought a book that has been on my mind for the longest time. FINALLY.

Screen Shot 2015-11-05 at 8.33.06 PM

May I present, William Shakespeare’s The Phantom of Menace.

Okay, don’t laugh. It’s a really interesting read because:

  1. I love Shakespeare’s works.
  2. I love Star Wars.
  3. The whole thing is basically the story of Episode 1 in Shakespearean sonnets.

I admit, I had a hard time choosing between this, Magnus Chase, and The Grand Budapest Hotel (though I had to save up first before purchasing this), but one of my best friends helped me out by saying: “You’ve always wanted the Star Wars one, so get that”. Thank you, Marigold!

Anyways, this book haul totally made my day (as well as the experiment since it was so much fun and interesting)! Have any of you read this book? What are your thoughts?

6 thoughts on “Will Do (Almost) Anything for Books!

Leave a Reply

